Saporem, Chueca: on Instagram straight flexin’

Welcome to the first in a series of slapdash, shambling, slipshod restaurant and bar reviews I’ve decided to include in my blog. We’ll start with the most recent meal I went out for, on Sunday evening. Chueca is a great area to go eating and bevving (if you can avoid just going to La Lateral all the flipping time like I do… the reservations man knows my name), and I’d just read about Saporem on this blog, so was good to go.

En-route there was the stop-off point, of course, of a pre-dinner cocktail in one of my Chueca favourites, Harveys:

fullsizerender

That’s me trying to channel Mad Men vibes and looking a bit more Kimmy Schmidt, but never mind.

Saporem is a very cool-looking place, with the outside dining area enclosed by tall apartment blocks and ethereal lights in red buckets hovering above you. It was quiet and chilled out on a Sunday evening. It is a highly Instagrammable place; there were a lot of diners peering at their screens making that life-changing decision between X-Pro II and Lo-Fi.

fullsizerender_1

The waiter won major points for not giving us English menus, like some places try to do until I get grumpy with them (for, y’know, trying to be helpful and everything, for Chrissake).

We picked a Rioja after I attempted some crap chat in Spanish, and devoured the little tapa the waiter had brought to keep us going, whilst I discreetly Wordreferenced under the table.

fullsizerender_2

We decided to share the croquettes for a starter – prawn, celery and pumpkin. They weren’t quite enough to make me forsake the blessed ham, but they were a good change. (Just a brief segway on the subject of holy croquettes – Ruairidh says that he’s ok with me purchasing religious tat for the flat as long as each Virgin Mary/baby Jesus statuette is accompanied by a bottle of wine with a religious motif on it. I love this sort of challenge, really everybody wins!)

fullsizerender_3

For our main courses, we both ordered pizzas. Mine was buffalo mozzarella, sundried tomato, ham and black olives, il clasico. It comes on a crispy, Ryvita-ish base which is pretty different to a regular or sourdough base.

fullsizerender_4

When looking around to have a food-creep, however, we decided that the burger somebody had ordered looked amazeballs, so that might be a reason to return. The cocktails also looked fab, and I would have tried one or two, if I wasn’t half a bottle of Rioja down.

My only complaint was that when the bill came, they charged us for bread which we hadn’t ordered and didn’t eat (pizza and croquetas, no I didn’t need any bread, have some sense), but I couldn’t be ersed scrapping about it.

So bar #BreadGate2016, had a really good time here and would file it under ‘Chilled Sunday Evening’, ‘Places to Take Your Mum’, and ‘Nicer Than 100 Montaditos’. (Oh, I will definitely write a full post about 100 Montaditos.) It had a relaxed atmosphere and a creative menu, and I would return – either to this one, or to its other branch in Las Letras.

Here is the menu, if you’re feeling voyeuristic.

Leave a Reply

